My Speedcubing journey

Mani bharathi / Aug 12, 2021

2 min read
Vim

I'm pretty sure every one of us would have tried to solve this colorful puzzle and ended up not solving it. First of all, let me clarify that you don't have to be super intelligent to solve a Rubik's Cube. Well, I'm here to share my story of how I learned it and what I learned from it.

So, back in my school days, there was a friend of mine who used to bring a Rubik's cube to class and solve it in front of us. I thought it was cool and it made me wanted to learn how to solve it. So I started googling, read articles, and watched a lot of youtube videos to learn it. It was hard at the beginning but after a couple of months of practice, I was able to get my timing to less than a minute.

Then, we started a small group in our school, where we used to solve and compete against each other. I also participated in a few cubing competitions conducted at some of the top colleges.

Initially, I found it difficult to understand and solve. I still remember at one point I even thought I wasn't smart enough to solve it. But I continued learning and practicing it every day in my school days. speedcubing really taught me the power of consistency.

I am an intermediate speed solver. I can solve a cube in around 12 seconds on average and it took me about 2 years to get to this timing. After graduating from school I lost touch with cubing. Currently, I'm practicing once in a while and I hope I'll be able to solve it in less than 10 seconds on average in the future.

Happy Cubing !

;